13 November 2009

The Songwriters Hall of Fame

By Mary Morningstar
08 June 2002

June 13, Michael Jackson, Ashford & Simpson, Barry Manilow, Sting and Randy Newman will be honored as the newest members of the Songwriters Hall of Fame. In addition, Garth Brooks will receive the Hitmaker Award, the Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Stevie Wonder, and Carole King will accept the Johnny Mercer Award. The Songwriters Hall of Fame was founded in 1969 by songwriter Johnny Mercer and publishers Abe Olman and Howie Richmond. Previous inductees include Elton John, Billy Joel, Curtis Mayfield, Stevie Wonder, Brian Wilson, Bob Dylan, Jim Croce and Burt Bacharach. This year's event will take place at the Sheraton New York Hotel.

No comments:

Post a Comment